Text Size

Fifth Annual Young Artist String Quartet Competition

bsu-quartet-1-with-ensoThe Boise Chamber Music Society announces the winners of the Fifth Annual Young Artist String Quartet Competition, held Saturday, April 17. From a field of four qualifying collegiate string quartets, Boise State University's student quartet of Seth Mattison and Maggie Snow, violins; Enrique Olvera, viola; and Shara Long, cello was awarded first place. Second-place prize was awarded to the College of Idaho Quartet, consisting of Geoffrey Hill, violin; Lisa Stempe, violin; Aurora Torres, viola; and Dayne Filer, cello. The Boise State quartet was coached by BSU string professors Brian Hodges, Linda Kline Lamar, and Craig Purdy. College of Idaho Langroise Professor David Johnson coached the C of I quartet. Judging was done by the members of the Enso Quartet, following their appearance on the final concert of the 2009-10 BCMS season.
web development by The Burroughs Group The Burroughs Group Web Design