Text Size

Seventh Annual Young Artists String Quartet Competition


The Boise Chamber Music Society is pleased to announce the results of the Seventh Annual Young Artists String Quartet Competition, as judged Saturday, Mar. 10, by the members of the Calder Quartet, who performed the night before on the Boise Chamber Music Series.

First place, including the $800 prize, in the Pre-College round was awarded to the "C.H.S. Chamber Players" from Caldwell High School: Heidi Olsen and Mackenzie Herrera, violins; Camille Leavitt, viola; and Tyler Hamilton, cello; coached by Gini Rosandick. This quartet performed works by Schubert and Beethoven. Also performing in the live contest was the Capital High School Quartet: Christa Cole and Schuyler Mickelson, violins; Bailey Clark, viola; and Antonio Perata, cello; coached by Sandy Shoen.

First place in the Collegiate round and a prize of $1000 were awarded to a quartet from Boise State University, with violinists Nicole Oswald and Yonsoo Park, violist Emily Jones, and cellist David Feldman, as coached by three BSU string faculty members, Linda Kline Lamar, Craig Purdy, and Brian Hodges. Also competing were the College of Idaho Quartet of Geoffrey Hill and Margaret Torrey, violins; Aurora Torres, viola; and Kyle True, cello; coached by Langroise Trio violist David Johnson. Two additional quartets from Boise State University also performed: Anna Iyerusalimets and Jessica Valencia, violins; Norah Ashby, viola; and Danika McClure, cello; and Rachael Knapp and Jessie Youngblood, violins; Cruz Torres, viola; and Samaquias Lorta, cello

Contact: Jeanne Belfy, 426 1216; This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Caption: C.H.S. Chamber Players (Caldwell High School) seated; BSU String Quartet standing, with Calder Quartet in center.

photo credit Jan Kelly

web development by The Burroughs Group The Burroughs Group Web Design