Text Size
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Alexander Quartet/Tarik O'Regan World Premiere - October 7

Alexander quartet thumbAlexander QuartetTarik OReganTarik O'ReganNo strangers to the Boise Chamber Music Series, the Alexanders are back for their fourth appearance here This time they are joined by British composer Tarik O’Regan, as they premiere his BCMS commissioned string quartet, “Gradual,” in celebration of our thirty-plus years of presenting touring, professional chamber ensembles in the Morrison Center Recital Hall.

Having celebrated its own 30th anniversary in 2011, the Alexander String Quartet has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the quartet’s recordings of the Beethoven cycle (twice), Bartók, and Shostakovich cycle have won international critical acclaim. The quartet has also established itself as an important advocate of new music through over 25 commissions from such composers as Jake Heggie, Cindy Cox, Augusta Read Thomas, Robert Greenberg, Martin Bresnick, Cesar Cano, and Pulitzer Prize-winner Wayne Peterson. The quartet has worked with many other composers including Aaron Copland, George Crumb, and Elliott Carter, and has long enjoyed a close relationship with composer-lecturer Robert Greenberg, performing numerous lecture-concerts with him annually.

A major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, the ASQ has served since 1989 as Ensemble in Residence of San Francisco Performances, and Directors of the Morrison Chamber Music Center in the College of Liberal and Creative Arts at San Francisco State University. Formed in New York City in 1981, the Alexanders captured international attention in 1985 as the first American quartet to win the London International String Quartet competition. The quartet has received honorary degrees from Allegheny College and Saint Lawrence University, and Presidential medals from Baruch College (CUNY).

Download "Listen In" with Tarik O'Regan and the Alexander String Quartet poster (PDF).

web development by The Burroughs Group The Burroughs Group Web Design