Text Size

3/9/08 - Boise Chamber Music Society Announces the 2008 String Quartet Competition Results


This year’s competition was limited to Collegiate quartets, due to insufficient pre-college applicants. On Mar. 8, five Idaho collegiate string quartets performed live, and were adjudicated In the Morrison Center Recital Hall by members of the Cypress Quartet. First-place winners were the Brigham Young University-Idaho Quartet consisting of Niccole Burbach, violin; Job Salazar, violin; Jennifer Ostermiller, viola; and Kyle Grant, cello. Second place was also awarded to a quartet from Brigham Young University-Idaho Quartet, including Richard Cleverely, violin; Whitney Hilton, violin; Kristina Willey, viola; and James Arnquist, cello. Both quartets were coached by Prof. Ted Ashton of BYU-I.

Honorable Mention was awarded to the Boise State University Quartet consisting of Becky Green, violin; Megan Reese, violin; Rod Royce viola; and Melissa Wilson, cello; coached by Dr. Linda Kline. The All-Collegiate Winners were presented in a recital on Sunday, Mar. 9 in the Recital Hall, performing their competition selections.

Also participating in the live competition on Saturday were The College of Idaho String Quartet: Seth Mattison, violin; Michaella Pape, violin; Sarah Hynes, viola; Kyla Davidson, cello; coached by David Johnson; and a third BYU-I quartet: Jessica Cooley, violin; Ariel Archibald, violin; Natalie Clifford, viola; and Sarah Arnesen, cello; also coached by Prof. Ted Ashton.

The events of the Boise Chamber Music Series are sponsored by the Boise Chamber Music Society and the Boise State Dept. of Music.

web development by The Burroughs Group The Burroughs Group Web Design